Congress Votes 70-11 To Reject ABS-CBN Franchise

Last Updated on July 12, 2020 by ITPM

July 10, 2020 – Decision is out: Reject ABS-CBN Franchise. House Committee on Legislative Franchises rejected the franchise application of the ABS-CBN Corporation with 70 committee and ex-officio members voting in favor of the resolution, 11 against, and with 1 abstention and 2 inhibitions.

After 12 hearings, the House Committee on Legislative Franchises adopted a resolution to reject ABS-CBN franchise, thus denying the franchise application of ABS-CBN Corporation to construct, install, establish, operate and maintain radio and broadcasting stations in the Philippines.

Congress Votes 70-11 To Reject ABS-CBN Franchise 1
Photo of Bulacan Congressmen taken from

Rep. Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado of the First District of Bulacan is the Vice Chairman of the Committee on Legislative Franchises. The 1st legislative district of Bulacan includes the City of Malolos, and the municipalities of Bulakan, Calumpit, Hagonoy, Paombong, and Pulilan. Other Bulacan representatives (as shown in the picture) are not part of this committee.

Read: Bulacan Election 2019: Who Won as Bulacan’s Choice?

Last May 5, the National Telecommunications Commission (NTC) ordered the Philippine broadcast giant ABS-CBN to shutdown its broadcast operations for the lack of a valid congressional franchise. The NTC filed a cease-and-desist (CDO) order to the company from broadcasting on television and radio effective immediately, a day after its operating franchise expired.

The NTC later issued another CDO prompting stoppage of operations of Sky Cable Corporation, a subsidiary of ABS-CBN and the country’s largest cable network, to close its direct-to-home satellite transmissions via Sky Direct.

NTC also banned the operations of ABS-CBN’s TV Plus channels via Channel 43 or AMCARA Broadcasting network, which carries. Cine MO!, Yey!, TeleRadyo, and pay-per-view channel Kapamilya Box Office.

Read: NTC Orders Broadcasting Giant ABS-CBN to Shutdown Immediately

Reject ABS-CBN Franchise
Statement of ABS-CBN President and CEO Carlo Katigbak

List of Congressmen who voted to allow or to reject ABS-CBN Franchise Renewal

70 Voted ‘YES’ to the resolution to reject ABS-CBN franchise, or those who voted are against ABS-CBN’s continued operations.

  1. Rep. Abraham Tolentino
  2. Rep. Antonio Albano
  3. Rep. Faustino Michael Dy
  4. Rep. Jose Antonio R. Sy-Alvarado
  5. Rep. Cyrille Abueg-Zaldivar
  6. Rep. Faustino Dy V
  7. Rep. Dale Malapitan
  8. Rep. Eric Martinez
  9. Rep. Divina Grace Yu
  10. Rep. Julienne Baronda
  11. Rep. Anthony Peter Crisologo
  12. Rep. Luis Ferrer IV
  13. Rep. John Marvin Nieto
  14. Rep. Strike Revilla
  15. Rep. Samantha Louise Alfonso
  16. Rep. Rolando Valeriano
  17. Rep. Joaquin Chipeco Jr.
  18. Rep. Eduardo Gullas
  19. Rep. Eleandro Jesus Madrona
  20. Rep. Frederick Siao
  21. Rep. Ian Paul Dy
  22. Rep. Gil Acosta
  23. Rep. Weslie Gatchalian
  24. Rep. Precious H. Castelo
  25. Rep. Alyssa Sheena Tan
  26. 26. Rep. Christian Unabia
  27. Rep. Raymond Mendoza
  28. Rep. Jericho Nograles
  29. Rep. Yedda Romualdez
  30. Rep. Eric Yap
  31. Rep. Claudine Bautista
  32. Rep. Esmael Mangudadatu
  33. Rep. Enrico Pineda
  34. Rep. Dulce Ann Hofer
  35. Rep. Sharon Garin
  36. Rep. Arnolfo Teves Jr.
  37. Rep. Janette Garin (Ex-Officio)
  38. Rep. Paulo Duterte
  39. Rep. J. F. Nograles (F. Hernandez)
  40. Rep. Conrado III Estrella
  41. Rep. Sandro Gonzales (Rep. P. Pichay)
  42. Rep. Mike Defensor (Rep. R. Puno)
  43. Rep. Allan Ty (Rep. A. Gonzales)
  44. Rep. F. Matugas (Rep. J. Pimentel)
  45. Rep. Luis Villafuerte Jr.
  46. Rep. Raneo Abu
  47. Rep. Dan Fernandez
  48. Rep. Rodante Marcoleta
  49. Rep. Henry Oaminal
  50. Rep. Pablo John Garcia
  51. Rep. Deogracias ‘DV’ Savellano
  52. Rep. F. Datol (Rep. M. Romero)
  53. Rep. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez
  54. Rep. Jesus Crispin Remulla
  55. Rep. Juan Miguel Macapagal Arroyo
  56. Rep. Cristal Bagatsing
  57. Rep. Juan Pablo Bondoc
  58. Rep. Elpidio Barzaga Jr.
  59. Rep. Bernadette Herrera-Dy
  60. Rep. Xavier Jesus Romualdo
  61. Rep. A. Calixto (Rep. J. Lacson-Noel)
  62. Rep. Wilter Palma II
  63. Rep. Ma. Theresa Collantes
  64. Rep. Ria Christina Fariñas
  65. Rep. Camille Villar
  66. Rep. Roger G. Mercado
  67. Rep. Sharee Ann Tan
  68. Rep. Joseph Stephen Paduano
  69. Rep. Bayani Fernando
  70. Rep. Jose Singson Jr.

11 Voted ‘NO’ to the resolution to deny franchise renewal, or those who voted in favor of ABS-CBN’s continued operations.

Congress Votes 70-11 To Reject ABS-CBN Franchise 2
House Panel Members in favor of ABS-CBN Franchise Renewal (Photo from FYT FB page)
  1. Rep. Sol Aragones
  2. Rep. Christopher De Venecia
  3. Rep. Carlos Zarate
  4. Rep. Gabriel Bordado Jr.
  5. Rep. Vilma Santos-Recto
  6. Rep. Lianda Bolilia
  7. Rep. Jose Tejada
  8. Rep. Bienvenido Abante
  9. Rep. Stella Quimbo
  10. Rep. Mujiv Hataman
  11. Rep. Edward Maceda


  1. Rep. Alfredo Vargas
  2. Rep. Micaela Violago


  1. Rep. Alfredo Garbin Jr

Disclaimer: While the information may be considered to be true and correct at the date of publication, changes in circumstances after the time of publication may impact on the accuracy of the Information. Information may change without notice. Links to other Internet Sites are for information only. Care has been taken in providing these links as suitable reference resources. However, due to the changing nature of online content, it is the responsibility of the users to make their own investigations, decisions, and inquiries about the information retrieved from other Internet Sites. Providing these links does not imply any endorsement, non-endorsement, support or commercial gain by

Leave a Reply

Follow by Email
%d bloggers like this: